Saturday, June 18, 2005

9th Presidential Election-Results - Rafsanjani, Ahmadinejad to head for run-off race - Irna

Rafsanjani, Ahmadinejad to head for run-off race - Irna: "Rafsanjani, Ahmadinejad to head for run-off race Tehran, June 18, IRNA

9th Presidential Election-Results
Expediency Council Chairman Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani and Tehran's Mayor Mahmoud Ahmadinejad took the lead in the presidential race, and will hence head for run-off race on June 24th.

Based on unofficial figures, announced by the Elections Headquarters at Interior Ministry, out of about 26,850,000 votes counted throughout the country thus far on Saturday, Rafsanjani and Ahmadinejad have gained the highest number of votes.

The following table shows the latest vote count announced by the elections headquarters of the Interior Ministry Saturday afternoon:
1. Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani 6,010,829
2. Mahmoud Ahmadinejad 5,555,458
3. Mehdi Karroubi 5,039,431
4. Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf 4,009,620
5. Mostafa Moin 3,949,240
6. Ali Larijani 1,715,190
7. Mohsen Mehralizadeh 1,269,793
Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad will thus run the run-off race, based on the non-official tally.